Using Contact Groups
About Contact Groups
The terms "group" and "contact group" mean the same thing.
A group is made up of one or more employees who are approvers or decision-makers in the approval process. Common workflows requiring approvals include change requests and knowledge management.
Managers, supervisors, and senior personnel are common members of groups.
Viewing the Group List
- From the Configuration Console, click Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups to open the Groups workspace. The application displays a list of groups with the following information:
- Name: The name of the group as stored within the business object.
- Group Type: The group type.
- Category: Optional. The group category.
- Status: The current status of the group.
- Modified By: The user name of the last person to modify the group.
- Modified On: The latest date the group was modified.
- Open a group to view its properties.
The following tabs appear on the Contact Group page.
- Member: The Member tab shows a list of member of this group. You can link or unlink group members from this tab or view details about a user.
- Activity History: The activity history shows a list of activity pertaining to this group, such as email or notes. See About Activity History.
- Audit History: The audit history shows a list of events that have occurred pertaining to this group.
Creating a Group
You can create groups that appear within the group drop-down lists.
- From the Configuration Console, click Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups to open the Groups workspace.
- Click New Contact Group. The application displays the Contact Group workspace.
- Enter information into the fields.
Field | Description |
|---|---|
Group Name | A unique display name for the group. |
Group Type | The group type. |
Problem Priority | The default priority level to be managed by this group. |
Status | The default change type for change items managed by this group. |
Change Type | The default status for change items managed by this group. |
Approval Type | The default approval type for change items managed by this group. |
Details | Additional information related to this group. |
- Click Save.
Modifying a Group
- From the Configuration Console, click Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups to open the Groups workspace.
- Open the group to modify.
- Edit the group using the options described in Creating a Group.
- Click Save.
Deleting a Group
Any group can be deleted, including Neurons for ITSM default groups.
Deleting a group can cause unexpected results in the approval process. Delete the group from a workflow before permanently deleting the group here.
- From the Configuration Console, click Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups to open the Groups workspace.
- Highlight the group to delete.
- Click Delete.
Adding Users to a Group
You can link and unlink users from the Group workspace or from the Employee workspace.
- From the Configuration Console, click Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups to open the Groups workspace.
- Open the group to add users to. The application displays the Contact Group page.
- Click the Member tab.
- Click Link. The application displays a list of users.
- Select users from the list. You can select multiple users.
- Click Select. The users appear in the member list.
Unlinking Users from a Group
- From the Configuration Console, click Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups to open the Groups workspace.
- Open the group to unlink users from. The application displays the Contact Group page.
- Click the Member tab.
- Highlight a user from the user list.
- Click Unlink. The user no longer appears on the group list.
