Create an Emergency Plan
Create an emergency plan and associate it to a building.
Prerequisites
To create an emergency plan, you must be logged in as one of the following roles:
- Facilities Manager.
- Facilities Administrator.
- Facilities Analyst.
You must have an existing location and building object, or create them, to which you associate the emergency plan.
To Create an Emergency Plan
- Open the Emergency Plan workspace.
- Click New Emergency Plan.
- Enter a brief summary in the Summary field.
- Select a location and building in the Location and Building drop-down lists.
You can save the emergency plan record at this point, then add a description, review date and assign it later. The Summary, Location and Building fields are mandatory.
- Add a description in the Description text box.
- Enter or select a date for review in the Review Date field if required.
The emergency plan must be assigned to an owner, this can be done later if required. You must save the plan if you have made any further edits to it at this point.
- Select Assigned from the Status drop-down list. This step marks the Owner field as a mandatory field.
- Select a team from the Team drop-down list. The employee you intend to assign as the owner must be a member of the team you select.
- Select the owner from the Owner drop-down list.
- Click Save. The emergency plan is created.
Add Details to the Emergency Plan
You can add further details to the emergency plan by selecting the tabs. By default the following tabs are displayed:
- Emergency Roles: Link or unlink employees with an emergency role, or view employees already linked to the plan.
- Assets: Link or unlink assets, or view assets already linked to the plan.
- Checklists: Create, link or unlink a plan checklist, or view existing checklists.
- Approvals: Lists plan approval details. This list is populated when the emergency plan is approved. You also add approvers from this tab.
You can also attach relevant documents or paste further information.
Send the Emergency Plan for Approval
Once an emergency plan has been assigned to an owner it can be approved or denied.
Before you send the emergency plan for approval, you should check that you have added all required information, and assigned any emergency roles, assets, checklists, etc.
To send the emergency plan for approval:
- Select the Status field drop-down list, and then select Pending Approval.
- Click Save.
After you select Pending Approval, the emergency plan fields are locked and cannot be edited further at this point until approved, after which the plan can be further edited if required by changing the Status field from Active, or Denied, to Review.
The Approval Vote Tracking tab appears, this is where approver(s) can cast their vote to approve or deny the emergency plan. An email is sent to everyone that is assigned as an approver. Approvers can also vote to approve or deny from the email message.
Approve or Deny the Emergency Plan
To approve or deny and emergency plan:
- Select the Approval Vote Tracking tab.
- Select Approve to approve the plan, or select Deny to deny the plan.
If the emergency plan is approved, the Status field changes to Active. When the status is Active, you can not edit the emergency plan. To enable editing, change the Status field to Review.
If the emergency plan is denied, the Status field changes to Denied,
If you want to edit and resubmit the emergency plan after it has been denied:
- Select the Status drop-down field, and then select Review.
- Make the required edits to the plan.
- Select the Status drop-down field, and then select Pending Approval.
- Click Save.
When you select Pending Approval, the plan is resubmitted for approval.
Approval Criteria
Contact Getting help if you need to change the criteria by which the emergency plan is approved/denied.
Deprecate an Emergency Plan
Deprecate an emergency plan that is no longer required for any reason.
A deprecated emergency plan is no longer editable but remains in the emergency plan workspace list, it cannot be resurrected.
To deprecate an emergency plan:
- Select the Status drop-down field, and then select Deprecated.
- Click Save.
