Re-assigning an Android device securely
The administrator can transfer the ownership of the Android devices from one user to a different user. During the re-assignment process, the device’s management profile will reconfigure or remap from the current user to the new user in the Android Enterprise mode.
The device re-assignment can be done only with the devices in same mode. For example, you can re-assign a device in Work Managed Device mode to another user in the same mode.
Prerequisites
Before you begin to securely re-assign the Android devices, make sure to check the following:
- The devices should be an Android Enterprise device.
- Limit the number of devices to 200 devices per secure re-assignment.
- The Android Enterprise user account should be in Active state.
- You cannot change the mode of the devices while it is re-assigning.
- Do not try to re-assign the device, if the device secure re-assignment is in progress.
- Make sure that the devices are not provisioned in Kiosk mode, DA mode, or Google Domain Account.
The device reassignment process will have the following statuses:
- Initiated
- Success
- Failed
- Pending
Procedure
- Go to Device & Users > Devices.
- Select the devices.
- Click Actions and navigate to Android Only > Secure Re-assignment. The Secure Re-Assignment window pane appears.
- In the User field select the user from the drop-down list. Alternatively, enter one of the following user information to search the user:
- User ID
- First Name
- Last Name
- Email ID
- Select the user.
- Click, Save. A Secure Re-assignment Warning pane appears to make sure that there is an existing Android Enterprise valid configuration for the new user. Instead, the device will retire or wipe.
If re-assignment process fails, the device’s management profile will reconfigure or remap the old user. Additionally, if the reconfigure or remap also fails, the device will be in Stale state.
