---
title: Disabling a User
slug: rbvm-help/disabling-a-user
createdAt: 2026-10-26T13:51:21.873Z
---

**Summary**: How to disable a user and ensure they no longer have access to the RiskSense platform.

RiskSense does not allow for user deletion. User information is retained so that their actions within workflows are preserved, providing a record of all user accounts. Instead of deleting a user so that they no longer have access to the RiskSense platform, you must disable the user.

To disable a user, navigate to the **Organize > Users** page.

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/9rfvxhrv8FA-8bxcK2IRv/T8QUYTy8qDpCdJrDnvT0G_creating-a-new-user-account.png" alt="Navigation - Organize - Users-1" position="flex-start" size="32" width="222" height="190" initialPath="Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Creating a New User Account.png" githubPath="RBVM_14.70_help/Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Creating a New User Account.png" showCaption="false"}

Select the user to disable by clicking their user card. This also opens the **User Detail** pane.

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/9rfvxhrv8FA-8bxcK2IRv/fZspp6wuXOMz0kJOu-9Q9_disabling-a-user.png" alt="Disable User - Select User Card" position="flex-start" size="53" width="372" height="150" initialPath="Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Disabling a User.png" githubPath="RBVM_14.70_help/Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Disabling a User.png" showCaption="false"}

In the Client Details section, click the **Add Role** button.

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/9rfvxhrv8FA-8bxcK2IRv/JSZtiUOJ32xlTp1Idzd24_disabling-a-user1.png" alt="Disable User - Add Role Button Location" position="flex-start" size="50" width="350" height="363" initialPath="Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Disabling a User_1.png" githubPath="RBVM_14.70_help/Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Disabling a User_1.png" showCaption="false"}

In the **Add Client Role to User** window, select the client to disable this user on using the **Client** drop-down menu.

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/9rfvxhrv8FA-8bxcK2IRv/692Zqzl7AunV-LsVuqjyo_disabling-a-user2.png" alt="Disable User - Select Client" position="flex-start" size="98" width="688" height="281" initialPath="Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Disabling a User_2.png" githubPath="RBVM_14.70_help/Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Disabling a User_2.png" showCaption="false"}

In the **Role&#x20;**&#x64;rop-down menu, select **Disabled**.

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/9rfvxhrv8FA-8bxcK2IRv/5hIRY203TUEtPDXkyGPFJ_disabling-a-user3.png" alt="Disable User - Select Disabled Role-1" position="flex-start" size="98" width="688" height="281" initialPath="Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Disabling a User_3.png" githubPath="RBVM_14.70_help/Resources/Images/RS KB Mirror for Ivanti - 2022/Disabling a User_3.png" showCaption="false"}

**Warning**: Adding an expiration date removes the Disabled role on the expiration date and allows the user access to RiskSense once the Disabled role expires.

Once complete, click **Submit**. The user is now disabled on the specified client. To disable this user from other clients, repeat these steps for each client.
