---
title: Activation and Deactivation
slug: ps/help/en_us/vtm/userguide/activation-and-deactivation
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-08-02T07:48:41.786Z
---

To enable multi-site management functionality, access the **System >&#x20;**&#x56;irtual Traffic Manager**s** page of the Admin UI. Tick the **Confirm** checkbox and then click **Enable** in the “Multi-Site Management” section.

Equally, the Virtual Traffic Manager can be set back to its original state by deactivating the multi-site capability in the same way. In this scenario, you must first select one of your defined configuration locations as the master configuration to be adopted by all Virtual Traffic Managers. All other configuration locations are then removed along with any location-specific configuration values stored for them. Ensure your chosen location is selected in the drop-down list, tick the **Confirm** checkbox and then click **Disable**.

:::hint{type="info"}
Although configuration locations are removed, GLB locations remain - but in a deactivated state.
:::

