---
title: Working with Notifications
slug: neurons-for-itsm/admin-user-help/enu/latest/working-with-notifications
createdAt: 2026-07-14T19:16:45.522Z
---

Notifications appear as soon as you log in to the application. A notification describes maintenance or release issues. The application does not display notifications in the Self Service portal.

- Maintenance notifications are primarily used to inform users of impending down times or maintenance issues. You can then opt to continue to log in to the application depending on the notification.
- Release notifications are more informative in nature and inform you of possible release changes and release notes.
- Notifications only appear when they are active (that is, when **Is Enabled** is selected) and within the scheduled time frame specified.

## Viewing Notifications

When you log in to the application, you see a notification window (if a notification is active) before you enter the main application.

To view current maintenance notifications, select **Maintenance Notification** in the **Help** drop-down menu.

If there are no notifications, a message appears stating that there are no active notifications.

## Creating a Notification

You can perform this action from either the Configuration console or the Service Desk console, but you must be logged in as an administrator.

1. Log in to the Service Desk console.
2. Open the **Notification** workspace. The list of current notifications appears.
3. Click **New Notification**. The **Notification: New record** page appears.
4. Enter information into the fields.

| Field           | Description                                                                                                                                                                                                 |
| --------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Start Date/Time | The start time for the notification.                                                                                                                                                                        |
| End Date/Time   | The end time for the notification.                                                                                                                                                                          |
| Type            | The notification type.                                                                                                                                                                                      |
| Subject         | A subject for the notification.                                                                                                                                                                             |
| Message         | The notification main message.                                                                                                                                                                              |
| Is Enabled      | When Is Enabled option is selected, notifications can be published to users.<br />Else, the notifications will be stored in the database and does not display to users. This option is selected by default. |

5. Click **Publish Notification**.
6. Click **Save**.

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
Users see the notifications within the start and end dates and times.
:::

## Deleting a Notification

1. Log in to the Service Desk console.
2. Open the **Notification** workspace. The list of current notifications appears.
3. Open a notification.
4. Click the **delete** icon :inlineImage[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/parib0MC3hVoUNdfQdnac/36wp44StYgWRScATebSZs_deleteredx.png" alt caption size="10" width="14" height="13"} next to the notification to delete.
5. In the confirmation dialog box, click **Yes**.

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
The notification is deleted.
:::
