---
title: Using Contact Groups
slug: neurons-for-itsm/admin-user-help/enu/latest/using-contact-groups
createdAt: 2026-07-14T19:16:51.942Z
---

- [About Contact Groups](docId\:pcaWziZtefJxFvX3XbR7l)
- [Viewing the Group List](docId\:pcaWziZtefJxFvX3XbR7l)
- [Creating a Group](docId\:pcaWziZtefJxFvX3XbR7l)
- [ Modifying a Group](docId\:pcaWziZtefJxFvX3XbR7l)
- [Deleting a Group](docId\:pcaWziZtefJxFvX3XbR7l)
- [Adding Users to a Group](docId\:pcaWziZtefJxFvX3XbR7l)
- [Unlinking Users from a Group](docId\:pcaWziZtefJxFvX3XbR7l)

## About Contact Groups

:::hint{type="info"}
The terms "group" and "contact group" mean the same thing.
:::

A group is made up of one or more employees who are approvers or decision-makers in the approval process. Common workflows requiring approvals include change requests and knowledge management.

Managers, supervisors, and senior personnel are common members of groups.

## Viewing the Group List

1. From the Configuration Console, click **Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups** to open the **Groups** workspace. The application displays a list of groups with the following information:
   - **Name**: The name of the group as stored within the business object.
   - **Group Type**: The group type.
   - **Category**: Optional. The group category.
   - **Status**: The current status of the group.
   - **Modified By**: The user name of the last person to modify the group.
   - **Modified On**: The latest date the group was modified.
2. Open a group to view its properties.

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
The following tabs appear on the **Contact Group** page.
:::

:::Paragraph{listStyleType="disc" indent="2"}
**Member**: The **Member** tab shows a list of member of this group. You can link or unlink group members from this tab or view details about a user.
:::

:::Paragraph{listStyleType="disc" indent="2"}
**Activity History**: The activity history shows a list of activity pertaining to this group, such as email or notes. See [About Activity History](docId\:dOLnQxPLSR_CCl3-udX4k).
:::

:::Paragraph{listStyleType="disc" indent="2"}
**Audit History**: The audit history shows a list of events that have occurred pertaining to this group.
:::

## Creating a Group

You can create groups that appear within the group drop-down lists.

1. From the Configuration Console, click **Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups** to open the **Groups** workspace.
2. Click **New Contact Group**. The application displays the **Contact Group** workspace.
3. Enter information into the fields.

| Field            | Description                                                       |
| ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Group Name       | A unique display name for the group.                              |
| Group Type       | The group type.                                                   |
| Problem Priority | The default priority level to be managed by this group.           |
| Status           | The default change type for change items managed by this group.   |
| Change Type      | The default status for change items managed by this group.        |
| Approval Type    | The default approval type for change items managed by this group. |
| Details          | Additional information related to this group.                     |

4. Click **Save**.

### Modifying a Group

1. From the Configuration Console, click **Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups** to open the **Groups** workspace.
2. Open the group to modify.
3. Edit the group using the options described in [Creating a Group](docId\:pcaWziZtefJxFvX3XbR7l).
4. Click **Save**.

## Deleting a Group

Any group can be deleted, including Neurons for ITSM default groups.

Deleting a group can cause unexpected results in the approval process. Delete the group from a workflow before permanently deleting the group here.

1. From the Configuration Console, click **Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups** to open the **Groups** workspace.
2. Highlight the group to delete.
3. Click **Delete**.

## Adding Users to a Group

You can link and unlink users from the **Group** workspace or from the **Employee** workspace.

1. From the Configuration Console, click **Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups** to open the **Groups** workspace.
2. Open the group to add users to. The application displays the **Contact Group** page.
3. Click the **Member** tab.
4. Click **Link**. The application displays a list of users.
5. Select users from the list. You can select multiple users.
6. Click **Select**. The users appear in the member list.

## Unlinking Users from a Group

1. From the Configuration Console, click **Configure > Users and Permissions > Groups** to open the **Groups** workspace.
2. Open the group to unlink users from. The application displays the **Contact Group** page.
3. Click the **Member** tab.
4. Highlight a user from the user list.
5. Click **Unlink**. The user no longer appears on the group list.
