---
title: Creating a Task Catalog Status
slug: neurons-for-itsm/admin-user-help/enu/latest/creating-a-task-catalog-status
createdAt: 2026-07-14T19:16:36.637Z
---

Two default task catalog statuses appear in the **Task Catalog Status** workspace:

- Active
- Inactive

To create a new task catalog status, do the following:

1. Log into the Service Desk Console.
2. Open the **Task Catalog Status** workspace. The system displays a list of task catalog statuses.
3. Click **New Task Catalog Status**.
4. Enter the name of the new task catalog status. For example, enter **suspended**.
5. Click **Save**. The system adds the new task catalog status to the list and it appears in the **Catalog Status** drop-down menu. You might need to refresh the screen to see the new status.

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
*Task Catalog Item Showing Status*
:::

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/parib0MC3hVoUNdfQdnac/jtUlmfriPw_LZ8usaVoOX_task-catalog-item.png" position="flex-start" size="40" initialPath="../../Resources/Images/help-images/task catalog item.png" githubPath="Content/Resources/Images/help-images/task catalog item.png" showCaption="false" indent="1"}

### Modifying a Task Catalog Status

You can change the name of an existing task catalog status. Existing records retain the old name of the status, but new records use the new task catalog status name.

1. Log into the Service Desk Console.
2. Open the **Task Catalog Status** workspace. The system displays a list of task catalog statuses.
3. Open a task catalog status.
4. Modify the name.
5. Click **Save**.

### Deleting a Task Catalog Status

You can permanently delete a task catalog status from the list. Existing records retain the deleted task catalog status, but new records do not see this status option. Do not delete all task catalog statuses; leave at least one task catalog status on the list.

1. Log into the Service Desk Console.
2. Open the **Task Catalog Status** workspace. The system displays a list of task catalog statuses.
3. Highlight the task catalog status to delete.
4. Click **Delete**.
