---
title: About Social Board Messages and Comments
slug: neurons-for-itsm/admin-user-help/enu/latest/about-social-board-messages-and-comments
createdAt: 2026-07-14T19:16:41.487Z
---

You can broadcast messages on the Social Board to all Neurons for ITSM users, a group of users, or even to specific users which appear on their **Home** page as soon as the users log in to the application.

## Types of Social Board Messages

There are two types of messages in the Social Board:

- **Public**: Messages that can be read by all the users.
- **Limited**: Messages that can only be read by specific users, groups, teams, or roles.

## About the Social Board counter

The **Social Board** icon is an unread message counter which is a quick and easy way to post and view messages. Click the **Social Board** :inlineImage[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/parib0MC3hVoUNdfQdnac/Nr9yWs_PucZ5kWNJok-o1_upe-newonsocialboardicon.png" alt="Icon showing how many social board messages there are waiting to be read" caption size="10" width="28" height="31"} icon to open the unread message counter to view the unread messages and post messages on Social Board.

The following are the features of **Social Board** counter:

- The number of unread messages is shown next to the **Social Board** icon. If the Social Board has not been activated, you do not see a number.
- The message counter increments each time a new message is posted but does not include your own messages.
- By default, the **Everybody's activity** area and your comments get updated instantly, while the **Teams Activity** area gets updated every five minutes. The maximum number of notifications shown is ten.
- You can see when a new message has been posted even if you are in another workspace. This eliminates the need to switch to the **Social Board** workspace to check for new messages.
- To clear the **Social Board** counter, either open the message window or click **Clear & Close**.

## Viewing Social Board Messages

You can view the Social Board messages either from the **Social Board** workspace or from the Chat Zone.

:::hint{type="info"}
Chat can only be accessed after the Social Board has been activated.
:::

## Search in Social Board

1. Log in to Neurons for ITSM.
2. Open the **Social Board** workspace.
3. Enter the search keyword in the **Search Post** field and press the **ENTER&#x20;**&#x6B;ey or click the Search icon :inlineImage[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/parib0MC3hVoUNdfQdnac/_ZXuoDhKm_HkR_XNS-NXy_searchicongray.jpg" alt caption size="10" width="15" height="15"}.

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
The search results are displayed.
:::

## Filter and view Messages in Social Board

1. Log in to Neurons for ITSM.
2. Open the **Social Board** workspace.
3. Choose the filter criteria from the left **Activity Stream** pane. The messages are categorized as follows:
   - **Everybody's Activity** - Messages published to all users.
   - **Teams Activity** - Messages published to your team.
   - **Groups Activity** - Messages published to a group that you are a part of.
   - **My Activity** - Messages published only to you.

## Posting a Message to the Social Board

1. Log in to Neurons for ITSM.
2. Open the **Social Board** workspace.
3. Click within the **Share what's new** message text box. The **Publish to** section appears.
4. Enter your message in the text box.
5. You can choose whom to publish the message.
   - To broadcast a message to all users, use the default setting which is **Everybody**.
   - To send a message to specific groups, roles, or teams, click **Add group** > choose a group, role, or team from the drop-down list > click **Add**.

:::Paragraph{indent="2"}
Repeat to add more groups, roles, or teams.
:::

:::Paragraph{listStyleType="disc" indent="2"}
To send a message to a specific person, click **Add person** > enter the name of the user in the text box > **Add**.
:::

:::Paragraph{listStyleType="disc" indent="3"}
Repeat to add more users.
:::

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
*Publish To*
:::

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/parib0MC3hVoUNdfQdnac/4MDyoQcvQvLp1ZtDgKCU2_postmessage.png" alt="Social board message post showing distribution choices" position="flex-start" size="70" initialPath="../../Resources/Images/ServiceDesk/post_message.png" githubPath="Content/Resources/Images/ServiceDesk/post_message.png" showCaption="false" width="968" height="108" darkWidth="968" darkHeight="108" indent="1"}

6. Click **Share**. The message is sent to the users/groups/teams based on your selection.

## Stop Sharing with a User, Group, Team, or Role

1. Log in to Neurons for ITSM.
2. Open th&#x65;**&#x20;Social Board** workspace.
3. In the **Publish to** section, click the **Delete** icon :inlineImage[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/parib0MC3hVoUNdfQdnac/36wp44StYgWRScATebSZs_deleteredx.png" alt caption size="10" width="14" height="13"} next to the name of a user, group, team, or role.

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
*Stop Sharing with a User, Group, Team, or Role*
:::

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/parib0MC3hVoUNdfQdnac/J9BOr4JnEayKrptgWiMXo_stopsharing.png" alt="Social board message dialog showing delete button" position="flex-start" size="80" initialPath="../../Resources/Images/ServiceDesk/stop_sharing.png" githubPath="Content/Resources/Images/ServiceDesk/stop_sharing.png" showCaption="false" width="642" height="149" darkWidth="642" darkHeight="149" indent="1"}

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
The user, group, team, or role no longer appears in the **Publish to** section and is no longer part of your conversation (unless you add them back).
:::

## Posting a Comment to a Social Board Message

1. Log in to Neurons for ITSM.
2. Open th&#x65;**&#x20;Social Board** workspace.
3. Click in the message text box and enter your message.
4. Either click **Share** or press the **ENTER&#x20;**&#x6B;ey.

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
The comment is shared to the users receiving the original message.
:::

## Deleting a Social Board Message or Comment

1. Log in to Neurons for ITSM.
2. Open the **Social Board&#x20;**&#x77;orkspace.
3. Click the **Delete** icon :inlineImage[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/parib0MC3hVoUNdfQdnac/P9fve2xjC13OIiAfCbV1M_deleteblack.png" alt caption size="10" width="15" height="16"} in the right corner of the post or comment header.
4. Click **Yes** for the prompt message.

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
The message/comment is deleted.
:::

:::hint{type="info"}
You can only delete the message you posted and other what other users posted.
:::
