---
title: Wipe
slug: dmg-android/guide/wipe
createdAt: 2026-10-06T07:46:34.713Z
---

:::hint{type="info"}
This feature can also be used on SD cards, for most devices.
:::

When wiping a device, Ivanti EPMM informs the device user of this action via email.

Administrators can wipe the device in Direct Boot mode in all Android Enterprise modes.

:::hint{type="info"}
WARNING: Wiping a device returns it to factory defaults, which can result in loss of data.
:::

**Required Role:** The Device Management: Wipe device role is required to use this feature.

**Procedure&#xA0;**

1. Go to <font color="#323232">Device &amp; Users </font>> <font color="#323232">Devices</font>.
2. Select the check box for the device to be wiped.
3. Select<font color="#323232"> Actions &gt; Wipe</font>.
4. Optionally, select one or more of the following options: 
   - Preserve data plan (iOS 11+ and Android 9+ devices only) - Select this option to retain the data plan on devices running iOS 11+ or Android 9+, if one exists. The **Preserver data plan** option is enabled by default starting from EPMM 12.6.0.0 release.
   - Skip Proximity Setup (iOS 11.3 and later devices only) - Select this option to skip the proximity setup pane in the iOS Setup Assistant.
   - Send Notification of wipe to registered user - Select (default) to allow an email / notification to be automatically generated when a Wipe command is sent. The Send Notification of wipe to registered user field is useful for users that have multiple devices. An email / notification will be automatically generated when the Wipe command is sent and prevents confusion to device users who may think Ivanti EPMM is wiping their current, active device De-select the check box to suppress notification when the Wipe command is used.

     :::hint{type="info"}
     To customize the email notification, go to System Settings > Settings > Templates > Other. Select the template type Action on Device.
     :::
   - **Return to Service** - Select this option to configure devices to automatically re-enroll after erasing all data, such that users need not re-enroll them manually after a wipe. Once you select this option, you get the WiFi Configuration drop down, which will fetch all the Wi-Fi configurations available in the system, where you can select your preferred Wi-Fi configuration. On the other hand, there are possible scenarios for Return to Service on the device end:
     **When wrong details or partial information provided**: When setting up a device, auto-Wi-Fi configuration will only function if all necessary data is entered. The user must return to the Wi-Fi setup screen and choose an alternative Wi-Fi or the right Wi-Fi details if any information is missing or incorrect.
     **When current Wi-Fi configuration provided**: The auto Wi-Fi setting will establish a successful Wi-Fi connection; the Wi-Fi sign will even appear at the top of the screen.

     :::hint{type="info"}
     **There is a known issue**: when current Wi Fi configuration is provided and a device tries to download a configuration profile, a pop up 'Unable to download a configuration profile' displays. Click **Retry** to download the profile.
     :::

:::Paragraph{indent="2"}
**When Enterprise Wi-Fi information provided**: The user is typically prompted with a pop-up to confirm that they trust the certification while attempting to connect to enterprise Wi-Fi. When the device tries to auto-configure Wi-Fi during device setup following a wipe, the certificate trust Wi-Fi pop up is not displayed to the user in the event of a return to service. After return to the Wi-Fi settings screen and select the proper Wi-Fi, the user will get a certification trust pop up. Wi-Fi connects automatically after trust.
:::

:::hint{type="info" indent="3"}
If the device has the bootstrap token at the time of DEP enrollment, EPMM presents it to the device with the Wipe command.
:::

5. Select<font color="#323232"> Wipe</font>.

:::hint{type="info"}
If the Ivanti Mobile\@Work app on the selected device is currently connected, then this action will be applied immediately. However, if the Ivanti Mobile\@Work app is not currently connected, then Ivanti EPMM will attempt to complete the operation by means of the SMTP configuration.
:::

**Related topics&#xA0;**

- [Cancel Wipe](docId\:Ir1Fhb00hftO4d9k2SADa)
