---
title: Trust and Untrust options for client users
slug: device-management-guide/android/trust-and-untrust-options-for-client-users
createdAt: 2026-10-06T07:48:38.106Z
---

If enabled, client users can use the Trust and UnTrust options to protect company data and applications in risky locations.

Figure: Trust and UnTrust options in self-service portal

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/V3jJx_afLEcmDauLTrzss/zK6TvdO50CUP5M77SXrOQ_tpubs-2479sspoptions.png" position="flex-start" size="72" width="504" height="85" initialPath="../Resources/Images/TPUBS-2479_SSPoptions.png" githubPath="Device Management Guide for Windows/Resources/Images/TPUBS-2479_SSPoptions.png" darkWidth="504" darkHeight="85" showCaption="false"}

- UnTrust: Users select this option to temporarily remove confidential information and applications from their device. Use this option before entering a location where device security may be at higher than normal risk, such as in airports.
- Trust: Users select this option to restore confidential information and applications on their device. Use this option when no unusual device security risks exist.

**Prerequisites&#xA0;**

- An administrator must configure Trust and UnTrust labels for device users. See [Enabling the iOS Trust/UnTrust option](docId\:RZgpm8N60s_0o4CYVCo2v).
- Client device users must have the Trust/Untrust role assigned to them or to their LDAP group.

## Enabling Trust and Untrust options on the device

**Procedure&#xA0;**

1. From a supported iPhone, click the Ivanti icon. The following pop-up message displays:
   **Untrusted Enterprise Developer**
   "iPhone Distribution: Ivanti" has not been trusted on this iPhone. Until this developer has been trusted, their enterprise apps will not be available for use."
2. Click **Cancel&#x20;**&#x74;o close the window.
3. Click **Settings > General > Device Management**. The Ivanti app will display there under **Enterprise App**.
4. Click the Ivanti icon. A confirmation window displays.
5. Click **Trust**. The Trust/Untrust option is enabled.
6. When in an insecure location, click **UnTrust**. Your company assets will be removed from the device until the device is once again Trusted.
